Wednesday, November 2, 2016

Jason Molina - Let Me Go, Let Me Go, Let Me Go

Jason Molina's second solo album under his own name came out in 2006.  Sounds rough and ready with the deceptively simple sounding guitar and piano of It's Easier Now underpinned by audible hiss. Tracks like Everything Should Try Again and Alone With The Owl are a real throwback to his work as Songs: Ohia.  It Must Be Raining There Forever sounds particularly desolate.  The final 3 tracks feature a drum machine, but not just any drum machine, this one is slow as molasses.  These tracks feel a bit more 'musical' for want of a better word.  Droning organ on It Costs You Nothing combines well with seemingly improvised piano before the slow drift of the title track where Molina lets loose on electric guitar (to a degree).  The whole thing is no easy listen, it's a good exercise in creating a dour atmosphere and maintaining it over an album.